L. M. Montgomery Reading Challenge: Book Selection

I am a big L. M. Montgomery fan; I have been since I was a kid. Over the years I’ve read nearly all of her books that I could get my hands on (my favourites are the Emily series and Kilmeny of the Orchard). Unfortunately, that means that there are few that I have left to read to complete this challenge. I’m just in it for the reading, as I don’t qualify for the contest (I live in New Zealand) but fortunately I have an almost identical locket anyway, so nevermind!  I did manage to dig up a copy of Pat of Silver Bush at our local library, which I haven’t yet read, so I’m going to go with it.

  • Pat of Silver Bush

    Patricia Gardiner loved Silver Bush more than anything else in the world. She was born and raised in the beautiful old-fashioned house on Prince Edward Island. “where things always seemed the same” and good things never changed. But things do change at Silver Bush — from her first day at school to the arrival of her new baby sister. from her aunt’s joyous wedding to her own first romance. Through it all. Pat shares her experiences with her beloved friends and discovers the one thing that truly never changes: the beauty and peace she will always find at Silver Bush — the house that remembers her whole life.” (from the back cover)

It sounds very much like Anne and Emily, so I’m sure I’ll enjoy it a great deal. More updates once I start reading it.

  1. Well, I am so glad you are playing along (even though you are in New Zealand). How very fun for the rest of us!

    Looking forward to hearing your thoughts!

      • black sheep
      • January 7th, 2010

      Thanks, Carrie! I’m really looking forward to reading some more of Montgomery’s work – I’m so glad I came across your challenge 🙂

  1. June 26th, 2010

Leave a Reply

