More Challenges!

Because I don’t have enough already.

  1. The To Be Read Challenge (original)
    Read a selection of 12 books total from your “To Be Read” list. These can be read in any order – the aim is for 1 per month, but as long as it’s within a 12 month period that’s fine. My chosen books are:
    – Fire From Heaven by Mary Renault
    – The Persian Boy by Mary Renault
    – Funeral Games by Mary Renault
    – The Nature of Alexander by Mary Renault
    – Master and Commander by Patrick O’Brien
    – The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins
    – The Painted Veil by W. Somerset Maugham
    – The Kite Runner by Khaled  Hosseini
    – Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh
    – The Feminine Mystique by Betty Friedan
    – Fear of Flying by Erica Jong
    – The Prestige by Christopher Priest

    A couple of these I’ve almost read before – that is, I’ve made attempts but never finished. Hopefully that still counts. I’d love to start this month but since I’m late and I’ve already got the rest of January’s reading worked out for other challenges, it will probably have to wait until February.

  2. The 451 Challenge
    I’m signing up at Blaze level – read 7 books from the 451 Master List by November 2010.
  3. The “What’s in a Name?” Challenge
    I like this one – easy, flexible, and a nice variety. Shouldn’t be too hard to find books that meet the criteria throughout the year.
  4. The Women Unbound Challenge
    How could I resist this? I’m going for Suffragette level – 8 books relating to Women’s Studies, 3 of which should be non-fiction.

I’ve pretty much picked challenges that allow you to overlap with other challenges, because otherwise I’d never be able to read enough books. I’m probably in over my head as it is, but otherwise where’s the challenge?

  1. Welcome to the What’s in a Name? Challenge. I’m so glad you decided to join. Good luck and have fun.

  2. Glad to have you join us in the 451 Challenge! I’ll look forward to your thoughts on the books you select. =)

      • black sheep
      • January 24th, 2010

      Thanks for stopping by – I’m looking forward to getting stuck in with this challenge!

  3. – The Feminine Mystique by Betty Friedan
    – Fear of Flying by Erica Jong

    These (and maybe others) would also count for the Women Unbound reading challenge.

    Also, since you majored in Philosophy & Religion (so did I), there’s another challenge that may interest you. (I don’t see it on your lists.) It’s the World Religion Challenge, found here:
    http://worldreligionchallenge.blogspot.com/
    I signed up for it, but I haven’t started reading for it yet. I’m okay, though, because I chose The Unshepherded Path, which means I choose how many books I read and which ones. J. T. Oldfield, who is hosting this challenge, calls this the “Don’t Tell Me What to Do Path,” which sounds totally appropriate to me. Here’s my post accepting the challenge, in case you are interested in my list of possible books:
    http://bonniesbooks.blogspot.com/2009/11/world-religion-challenge.html

      • black sheep
      • January 24th, 2010

      These (and maybe others) would also count for the Women Unbound reading challenge.

      That was my plan, yeah =D Thanks for the link to the WRC – I hadn’t seen that challenge, but it looks like it will be great fun, so I shall add it to my sign-up list!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

