Reading Challenges General Update #1

OK, I’m kind of losing track of what I need to read for which here, so I figured it would be a good idea to do a final round-up and sort out what I’m doing.

Year of the Historical
GOAL: 1 historical novel per month (12 total)
STATUS: Currently reading A Dangerous Vine, set in the 1950s, for this month’s historical novel. I’m not sure this entirely counts, since it’s less about historical events and more about the people who lived through them, but I don’t really know what else to call it!

GLBT Challenge
GOAL: 12 or more GLBT/related novels
STATUS: Have read 2 this month and I have a third that I’m looking forward to reading shortly. Good progress here, I think!

Beth Kephart Challenge
GOAL: 4 assorted Kephart novels
STATUS: I’ve read 3 of her young adult novels this month and have a memoir on reserve at the library.

L. M. Montgomery Challenge
GOAL: Read 1 Montgomery novel in January
STATUS: I have Pat of Silver Bush waiting on my bookshelf; it’s next on my list to read.

Social Justice Challenge
GOAL: Read 1 full length novel, participate in 1 action step and watch/view 1 other media resource
STATUS: Having trouble with this; I’m working my way through Anil’s Ghost, but I can’t see any other media resources or action steps available for this month and I’m not sure I’m looking in the right place. Which makes things a bit tricky!

Royal Mistresses Challenge
GOAL: 1 historical novel featuring a royal mistress per month
STATUS: Having trouble with this one, too, as I keep forgetting about it! I’ve requested The Time of Singing from the library today and discovered they have a whole category called “Mistresses – Fiction” — YES! I’m going to explore that this afternoon and see what else I can find. Hopefully I’ll be able to finish this book before the end of January.

I’ll possibly be adding more challenges later today, if/when I get myself organized. We’ll see.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

