Teaser Tuesdays (April 20)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS!
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

—-

This week I’m going to use an excerpt from A Slant of Sun: One Child’s Courage by Beth Kephart, which I’m slowly working my way through as part of the Beth Kephart Challenge. It’s a first-person memoir of Kephart’s struggles after her son Jeremy is diagnosed with an unspecified, pervasive developmental disorder, written in her customary lyrical style:

I remember my first lie. I am five. I am on the wrong side of the classroom, away from the windows, away from the sun, which I am sure is hot, if I could just touch it. The teacher yammers at the front of the room like a Charlie Brown adult, no words. I press my body toward where the sun is. I make a diagonal lean and hear, outside, the pitching shrill of an emergency vehicle passing by. I hitch a ride on the back of the sound, go with it, arrive, in my mind, to a roaring blaze, a fire, water through nozzles, fierce spray.

— p.129, A Slant of Sun by Beth Kephart.

You will notice that I can never stop at just two sentences. I think I shall make that two paragraphs, personally, because what can you tell about a book from two sentences? Not enough. Not nearly enough.

  1. How wonderful to be able to remember that far back with such clarity, and also write about it so beautifully! Lovely teaser.

      • Black Sheep
      • April 21st, 2010

      Yes, I wish I had her memory – and her talent! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

