Sunday Spotlight

Sunday Spotlight

Here are some of the book reviews, articles and blog posts I’ve been enjoying this week. Want me to feature one of your posts here? Send me a link and I’ll check it out!

  1. Don’t Patronise Popular Fiction by Women by Harriet Evans: an older post tweeted earlier today by Readin’ and Dreamin’ blogger Christy B. Personally I hate the term “chick lit” for precisely this reason – it makes the novels tagged with that sobriquet seem cutesy, shallow and uninteresting. At the same time, I think that unfortunately a lot of the fiction I have read that falls into that category simply is cutesy, shallow and uninteresting. Admittedly, I am a literary fiction snob with a bias against genre fiction in general, but I have to disagree with Evans’ assessment of the authors’ writing abilities. I think the term “chick lit” is at least helpful for people like me, so that we know to avoid the books in question, but I definitely see the sexism in the name and in general refuse to use it at all. What do you think?
  2. Review of Possession by A. S. Byatt at Readin’ and Dreamin’. I was exploring Christy’s blog after coming across the link to Don’t Patronise Women’s Fiction, and when I saw the A. S. Byatt tag I couldn’t resist. Christy perfectly captures my feelings about Possession, which is by far one of my favourite books in the world, so I encourage anyone with an interest in literature and historical fiction to check out her review and maybe give the novel a try.
  3. Review of Sandman: Preludes and Nocturnes by Neil Gaiman at Reading in Bed. This one I found through the links for the Graphic Novel Challenge. I’ve been hearing a lot about Gaiman’s novels (graphic and otherwise) at the moment, so this one caught my interest.
  4. Review of The Secret Scripture by Sebastian Barry at Musings of a Literary Dilettante. I think I’ve found a new favourite book blogger: not only do they review literary fiction, my first love, but they also write wonderful, detailed reviews with lots of delicious excerpts. Definitely something to aspire to, and in the meantime to thoroughly enjoy. A great find!
  5. Review of The Lotus Eaters by Tatjana Soli at Tales of a Capricious Reader. An interesting looking book and a good review: I think I’ll try to track that one down.

Thanks to all these great bloggers for their wonderful posts. Hope you enjoy!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

