Teaser Tuesdays (April 27)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS!
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

—-

Today’s teaser is from the sequel to The Vintner’s Luck. While I don’t love it quite as much as I do that one, it’s still a wonderful read. Elizabeth Knox is one of the few authors whose work makes me think, laugh, sigh and want to re-read over and over again for the sheer joy of it.

He considered Cole’s feelings, and put them aside. He put his own feelings aside. He said, to himself (and also to God, to Whom for a moment he forgot he was refusing to speak), “All I want from that man is to be allowed to follow his thinking.” He dropped his gaze, and his eyes found the place, miles off, where a thread of oily smoke was still going up from the wrecked plane. Then, for an instant, he was engulfed in the vivid patience, the impersonal benevolence, and the personal affection of his Father. He was reminded: You followed Lucifer in order to follow his thinking.

A moment later Cole reappeared and said, “What are you doing on the ground?”

“I’m having a temper tantrum,” Xas said.

“A very quiet one.”

“They’re the worst sort. Did you make that call?”

“Yes. You can stop policing me.”

“I will. I think policing is pernicious. No one should police anyone.”

Cole came and stood over him, hands on his hips. “I reckon I prefer the police to keep on. We don’t want anarchy.”

“Oh, don’t we?” said Xas.

— p.148, The Angel’s Cut by Elizabeth Knox

What are you reading today?

  1. Interesting. VERY interesting. I might need to find out more about these books, though I’m not sure about the description there in the first paragraph. Every time I read “oily smoke” (and this isn’t the first time) I find myself trying to envision it and coming up dry.

    Here’s my TT.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

