Sunday Spotlight

Here are some of the book reviews, articles and blog posts I’ve been enjoying this week. Want me to feature one of your posts here? Send me a link and I’ll check it out!

I’ve been reading and thinking a lot about fanfiction this week, spurred largely by a belated encounter with Diane Gabaldon’s strenuously expressed dislike of fan works involving her characters. I found this to be quite interesting, particularly in terms of the reaction it engendered; Gabaldon’s Outlander was the first book in which I encountered explicit sex scenes, of both the hetero- and homosexual variety, and has always felt like a milestone book for me. I never wrote any fanfiction of that particular series, but I have written my fair share over the years, and it always intrigues me to read an author’s perspective on fandom.

In following the debate (as I said, belatedly) I have been reading some very interesting and thought-provoking posts all over the blogosphere which I thought I would share, in spite of their being somewhat old news at this point.

  1. Free To a Good Home: Slash Goggles – Renay of Subverting the Text discusses fanfiction and the GLBT community in a guest post on the GLBT Challenge Blog.
  2. I’m Done Explaining – Bookshop has a list of award-winning works that are essentially fanfiction.
  3. And a brilliant rant on why subtext is not enough.
  4. Smart Bitches, Trashy Books has a fascinating discussion going on both the connection between Christianity and Fantasy and Judaism and Science Fiction, and the validity of fanfiction.
  5. And just so that this is not completely overwhelming with all its fanfiction-related-ness, Filling My Patch of Sky has a nice little post on writing in general and the necessity of practice.

Enjoy!

  1. May 17th, 2010
  2. May 22nd, 2010

Leave a Reply

