Thursdays in Black: Good Books, Good Cause.

Thursdays in Black official logo

Why Wear Black?

It’s perfectly simple: for one day a week, wear black to show your support for survivors of discrimination and violence, and to work together for a world without brutality. In addition, I have decided to add a bi-weekly feature to this blog, in which I will feature a specific Human Rights-related link, article, blog post or other media item and discussion, encouraging others to get involved. Read my first post here.

Link of the Day:

Good Books New Zealand Online Bookshop

Why I Chose this Link:

I stumbled across Good Books while I was surfing the net yesterday, and it struck me as being the perfect site for this week’s Thursdays in Black post. Firstly, it’s local. I know a lot of those who stumble across this blog are probably Americans (law of the internet: other countries don’t exist!) and that there are lots of international websites I could feature (and probably will). However, this is a New Zealand blog, and I figure some Kiwi bias is not only to be expected, but encouraged. Also, Good Books delivers internationally. So spreading the word benefits everyone!

Secondly, I love the idea. As with BetterWorldBooks, Good Books sells books for a purpose. I’ll let them explain in their own words:

The Good Books model is simple. Every time anyone buys a book through the Good Books website, 100% of the retail profit from every sale goes to support communities in need through Oxfam projects.

As a result, charitable donation is built into an everyday activity at no extra cost.

No one at Good Books is paid and we have zero operating costs. All time, professional services and resources are donated.

Good Books is about creating positive and enduring connections between commercial worlds and wider, less advantaged communities. Rather than fight a system that privileges a few over many, we wanted to transform it from within to constructive effect. Now, each time you buy a book through us you challenge traditional barriers that prevent commercial involvement in reducing poverty.

If that’s not a great reason to buy from them, I don’t know what is. I’ll definitely be looking them up the next time I’m searching for a good read!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

