Sunday Spotlight (*Special Edition*)

Here are some of the book reviews, articles and blog posts I’ve been enjoying this week. Want me to feature one of your posts here? Send me a link and I’ll check it out!

Happy Birthday to me! However, I think there has been some mistake. There is no possible way I can be 23 years old. Where did 17 through to 22 go? Anyone? Anyone? …Bueller?

Anyway. This week, I’ve been doing a lot of reading about writing:

  1. Such as this interview with David Ebershoff, author of The Danish Girl, on writing transsexuality in fiction at the GLBT Challenge blog. He has some interesting things to say about the universality of questioning and the construction of identity, as well as how this plays out on the page.
  2. I’ve volunteered to write a couple of blog posts for the Southern Cross Novel Challenge over at Kiwi Writers next month. It’s mainly a Kiwi website, but international members are more than welcome, so if you’re a writer, check it out! SoCNoC, as it is affectionately known, is the Southern Hemisphere’s answer to NaNoWriMo: 50,000 words in 30 days. You’ll be hearing lots about my progress throughout June.
  3. I also stumbled across Writers Block NZ, the blog of one of my compatriots and fellow SoCNoC participants. It has some very helpful advice about things like getting feedback for your work and beating writer’s block (naturally), as well as excerpts from a Work in Progress. Great stuff!
  4. The Book Smugglers have a whole series of guest posts by various authors about their Inspirations and Influences which I just discovered. My particular favourite is Mark Andrew Smith’s post about graphic novels and the need for growth in the genre: “Could you imagine if there were just one genre of novels to read and nothing else and that it was the superhero genre? It’s crazy to imagine right? The idea is very laughable…But it’s been the case for at least the past 80 years in the medium of comic books and graphic novels.”
  5. And a rather old post by a New Zealand poet I studied at High School, discussing why sadness can sometimes be more pleasurable than happiness, and how this relates to writing poetry: Sad but True by Bill Manhire.
  6. Another new writing blog I can tell I’m going to enjoy reading: Inkfilled Mind.
  7. Cassandra Jade wants to know: do you have a Favourite Female Protagonist? And if so, why? I can’t decide between Mary Russell and Scarlett O’Hara, personally. Mary is me in fictional form – so much so, it’s like finding a long lost twin. But Scarlett is just so gutsy; I love her for her selfishness, her blindness, her sheer spirit. For some reason she made a deep impression on me. Hm. I have to say it’s a tie.
  8. Avery Oslo pontificates on The Most Important Sentence You Will Ever Write.
  9. The Writers Cafe discusses the importance of Naming Characters.
  10. And, finally: The Writing Style of Twilight Discussion. I’m about 1/3 of the way through Breaking Dawn on CD at the moment. Yes, I have almost made it through the entire series. It hasn’t been easy, for several reasons, one of which is highlighted in this post: the writing.

Have a good one, and thanks for reading!

  1. Happy birthday and thanks for all the links (thank you also for including mine). Hope you have a great day.

      • Black Sheep
      • May 23rd, 2010

      Thanks 🙂 And thank you for commenting!

  2. Happy Birthday, young ‘un! 🙂 Hope you had a lovely day

      • Black Sheep
      • May 24th, 2010

      🙂 Yes, I did, thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

