SoCNoC 2010 Day 1: Begin at the Beginning

The Southern Cross Novel Challenge (SoCNoC) is NaNoWriMo for the Southern Hemisphere. The goal is to write 50,000 words of fiction over the 30 days of June. I’ll be updating with my progress every three days throughout the month.

Current Word Count: 2224 words
Rating: Some parts I love. Other parts I want to shred into bitty bits. Overall, a good start.

Notes:

I’m writing by the seat of my pants at the moment; I did plan, so I know what I want to happen, several subplots that I’ll need to weave in, and the ultimate destination of the story. However, I did not make my usual obsessively detailed outline, largely because I totally ran out of time, so I feel a bit like I’m jumping out of a plane with a parachute. Or, to be more accurate and less nightmare-inducing, like I’m sitting a test I only half studied for.

On second thought, that’s not less nightmare-inducing at all. Forget I said anything.

I started out, as I always do, going very slowly and loving everything I wrote. Then at about 1.5k I started thinking, “Okay, this sucks now.” Something that I found which helped was keeping my favourite books beside me and reading a page or two at random every time I started losing the thread or thinking I’d never make it. Somehow, that got me into the groove again – so much so that I raced right over my planned word goal without even realising! I owe Louis de Bernieres, Elizabeth Knox, Michael Ondaatje and A. S. Byatt a debt of gratitude all over again.

    • silverneurotic
    • June 2nd, 2010

    See, I wish the NaNoWriMo happened during June, July or August-it’s a much better time, no impending major holidays to contend with.

    Last year I had hopes of at least attempting the feat. Except, when November came around I didn’t bother. I was moving at the end of the month. I had too many stressors at work and at home.

      • Black Sheep
      • June 3rd, 2010

      That’s the beauty of SoCNoC, I guess! KiwiWriters does accept international members, so check it out if you have the time – it’s still early days; you could even join in!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

