SoCNoC 2010 Day 3: News from the Trenches

The Southern Cross Novel Challenge (SoCNoC) is NaNoWriMo for the Southern Hemisphere. The goal is to write 50,000 words of fiction over the 30 days of June. I’ll be updating with my progress every three days throughout the month.

Current Word Count: 6,240 words
Rating: I can’t decide if I hate it or love it.

Notes:

It seems to me that I’m taking this novel a bit too seriously. It’s the first of its kind that I’ve ever attempted, so it’s a stretch both structurally and thematically. What I’ve written so far has been decidedly different from what I intended to write, and it’s gotten a bit so that I’m actually afraid to start writing because I have no idea what happens next. So I’ve been trying to remind myself to relax, and to see this draft as a means of figuring out what I have to learn, research, organize and so on rather than a serious attempt to write the story well. After all, I don’t really know the story yet, and won’t until I’ve written it. Only then will I be able to see how it begins to fit together.

Writing is the sort of thing you can only learn by doing. Which can be tremendously frustrating, but also a fascinating process. I often find, in the first draft, that I have a tendency to write out emotions and motivations a little too baldly, kind of like signposts to myself for when I come back to revise. When I’m writing, I find it hard to think in terms of the bigger picture, or to ask myself questions like, how can I show this rather than tell it? How best to convey these emotions in voice, gesture, action? Subtlety: I lack it. So that’s definitely something to think about for the second (and subsequent) draft(s).

Oh yeah, and my first ever guest blog post went up on the KiwiWriters website. Check it out!

  1. Nice word count! I’m attempting to get to 6k tonight. I don’t think anyone can really concentrate on things like showing not telling etc in the mad dash to get 50000 words out in a month. Squish your inner editor! You’ll have plenty of time after socnoc! Best of luck 🙂

      • Black Sheep
      • June 4th, 2010

      Thanks. Same to you 🙂 *flattens Inner Editor with a mallet*

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

