SoCNoC 2010 Day 6: Soldiering On

The Southern Cross Novel Challenge (SoCNoC) is NaNoWriMo for the Southern Hemisphere. The goal is to write 50,000 words of fiction over the 30 days of June. I’ll be updating with my progress every three days throughout the month.

Current Word Count: 10,104 words
Rating: I don’t altogether hate it, so that’s a good sign – right?

Notes:

I had such plans for this weekend. I wanted to break 20k (I have been known to have 10k+ days in the past) so that I’d have a huge cushion of words to fall back on, and because I am hugely competitive and can’t stand the fact that there are, like, seven people with a higher word count than me.

Yes, this is very childish and totally not the point, I know, but I can’t help it! It’s part of what keeps me motivated.

Anyway, naturally life got in the way. First I had French class, then a writing group, and today I woke up with an epic headache so at this point I’m just glad I’m hanging in there and still on track with my count. And I’ve still been doing at least 1000 words a day. So. Not brilliant, but not that bad either. 10k down, another 40k to go!

    • silverneurotic
    • June 7th, 2010

    1,000 words a day is what Stephen King recommends writing in his memoir “On Writing”. It’s a good goal I think.

      • Black Sheep
      • June 8th, 2010

      I’ve definitely found it works for me. It’s just enough to be a challenge, but not overwhelmingly so.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

