SoCNoC 2010 Day 9: Imaginary Infidelities

The Southern Cross Novel Challenge (SoCNoC) is NaNoWriMo for the Southern Hemisphere. The goal is to write 50,000 words of fiction over the 30 days of June. I’ll be updating with my progress every three days throughout the month.

Current Word Count: 15,391 words
Rating: I’ll give it a 6/10 today.

Notes:

It’s been kind of rough getting to write recently. Not the writing itself, exactly: usually once I’ve been going for about four hundred words I’m well in the swing of it and manage to get to my goal with no serious problems. But I find myself putting it off, and putting it off, and putting it off. I really don’t want to write, and that’s what’s making it difficult.

The problem, you see, is that I did not spend enough time with my budding novel before beginning to write it. It was a whirlwind affair – when we first met, I was swept off my feet! We had so much in common. We were made for each other, I knew it. But then came the plot holes, and the recalcitrant characters, and it became so demanding…It got so I just couldn’t stand it anymore.

I confess: I am cheating on my novel, if not in deed, then in spirit. I have another, better idea that I want to write more.

Novel, I am sorry. I am not doing you justice. You were so good to me today, you made me see our potential. Take me back? Please? I will try to be a better author from now on, I promise.

  1. I think all authors have that problem once in awhile. There are so many ideas that it’s a huge challenge to sit down and work on ONE idea and ignore the other story ideas that are just dying for your attention.

      • Black Sheep
      • June 10th, 2010

      It certainly is. Oh well. I’ll hang in there. I’m determined to make this work, at least long enough to finish a first draft 😄

  2. I sympathise 100%. I too am not connecting with the novel, although I did extensive planning for this one. I hope u find a way to make it work!

      • Black Sheep
      • June 10th, 2010

      😄 Thanks. Good luck to you too! Maybe they need to start couples counselling for novels and their writers, lol.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

