CHALLENGE COMPLETE: The GLBT Reading Challenge

The Challenge:

The basic idea of this challenge is to read books about GLBT topics and/or by GLBT authors. The challenge runs year-round, and there will be three levels of participation:

  • Lambda Level: Read 4 books.
  • Pink Triangle Level: Read 8 books.
  • Rainbow Level: Read 12 or more books.

You don’t need to choose your books right away, and they can change at any time. Overlaps with other challenges are fine.

I chose to participate at Rainbow Level and have since read 12 GLBTQ-related books, as follows:

  1. “Child of My Right Hand” by Eric Goodman
  2. “The God Box” by Alex Sanchez
  3. “The Vintner’s Luck” by Elizabeth Knox (plus the film)
  4. “In Love and Trouble” by Alice Walker
  5. “Young Avengers: Sidekicks” by Allan Heinberg
  6. “Young Avengers: Family Matters” by Allan Heinberg
  7. “Essential Dykes to Watch Out For” by Alison Bechdel
  8. “Hero” by Perry Moore
  9. “The Color Purple” by Alice Walker
  10. “Fun Home” by Alison Bechdel
  11. “The Angel’s Cut” by Elizabeth Knox
  12. “What Happened to Lani Garver” by Carol Plum-Ucci

I still have several GLBTQ novels on my reading list, so this is definitely not the end of the line as far as that’s concerned. Interestingly, I think the majority of those I have reviewed so far I’ve really enjoyed, if not loved. Have I just been picking the best ones, or is there something about GLBTQ literature that lends itself to a more nuanced and affecting view of people/reality? An interesting question to ponder. In any case, it certainly seems that I’ve found a subset of fiction which appeals to me on both a philosophical and personal level. I’m so glad I signed up  for this challenge!

  1. Yay! Congrats on finishing!

      • Black Sheep
      • June 11th, 2010

      Thanks 🙂

  2. Congrats, hon! I came to the challenge late, so I just finished up this week.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

