SoCNoC 2010 Day 12: In Spite of Everything, Plot Occurs.

The Southern Cross Novel Challenge (SoCNoC) is NaNoWriMo for the Southern Hemisphere. The goal is to write 50,000 words of fiction over the 30 days of June. I’ll be updating with my progress every three days throughout the month.

Current Word Count: 21,175 words
Rating: Please-don’t-make-me-reread-this.

Notes:

Had a couple of good days, mostly thanks to Twitter word wars with other SoCNoC participants – thanks guys! To my surprise, once I got stuck into it and forced myself to write, not only did I reach a personal best of 1.5k in half an hour but I also found the plot kind of developed on its own. I started out with only the vaguest idea of what I thought might happen; I knew that my main character’s parents would be involved, because I didn’t want this to be a YA novel even though the protagonist is only 16, but I had no idea what their storyline would be like. Now, I not only know what the mother’s subplot is about but also how it ties in to the main plot – and I love it! The father is proving a little intractable, but perhaps he will become more voluble as the story progresses. We shall see.

Overall, I find that even though my heart isn’t really in it (I’m still pining for my beautiful, perfect fantasy novel), and even though I don’t have an outline or much of a clue what I’m doing, it’s not going too badly. Here’s hoping I’ll pull off a 6k day tomorrow and make it past the half way mark. I’m hoping that will prove a tipping point and things will be downhill from there. In a good way, that is.

Fingers crossed!

  1. Subplots are great when they pop up like that 🙂 sometimes they’re more fun than the original!

      • Black Sheep
      • June 14th, 2010

      I know, right? I love it. I figured out how that subplot connects to another subplot today too. It’s quite interesting writing without an outline, because the plot just seems to develop organically. If it weren’t for those days on which I have no idea what to write next, I’d almost say it’s easier than sticking to a pre-determined plan XD

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

