SoCNoC 2010 Day 21: Turtles All the Way Down

The Southern Cross Novel Challenge (SoCNoC) is NaNoWriMo for the Southern Hemisphere. The goal is to write 50,000 words of fiction over the 30 days of June. I’ll be updating with my progress every three days throughout the month.

Current Word Count: 40,119 words
Rating: Sssmokin’.

Notes:

Oops. I just about forgot to update here again. My apologies for missing the last post; I’ve been, well, I guess you could say a little overwhelmed. I have a presentation due at the end of next month that I still haven’t written, way too much research to do, a move to plan…Basically, my life has been pretty hectic the past few days. And to top it all off, I had a complete crash-and-burn period of writer’s block on the 17th, and had to resort to writing a random vampire filler just to get my 1k for the day done. No SoCNoC at all!

However, I am pleased to say that I did recover, and ever since then plot seems to have been coming thick and furious. My poor characters! The pacing is all over the place, and will definitely need to be fixed in the next draft (assuming there ever is a next draft), and I seem to have a tendency to veer wildly from the drily humourous to the dramatic and angsty. No matter. That’s what SoCNoC is all about: finding your weaknesses and learning to overcome them. And I have plenty of weaknesses in my writing. Oh boy, do I.

Still, I think I’m doing pretty well, all things considered. I wouldn’t be surprised if I hit 50k by the end of the month after all! Quite an achievement after last year.

Entering the home straight now. Wish me luck!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

