Monday Poem: “Wild Swans” by Edna St. Vincent Millay

As I said last week, I’ve been going through some of St. Vincent Millay’s work after encountering her at random in a piece of fanfiction. While I haven’t liked all of the poems I’ve read, I will say that she has a great deal of imagination and I have enjoyed exploring them. I particularly enjoyed the imagery of this piece that I’m featuring today:

Wild Swans by Edna St. Vincent Millay

I looked in my heart while the wild swans went over.
And what did I see I had not seen before?
Only a question less or a question more:
Nothing to match the flight of wild birds flying.
Tiresome heart, forever living and dying,
House without air, I leave you and lock your door.
Wild swans, come over the town, come over
The town again, trailing your legs and crying!

(courtesy of this site)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment